2015 Buzzards Bay Swim

2015 Buzzards Bay Swim

Two hundred forty-eight swimmers dove into outer New Bedford Harbor to show their support for a clean and healthy Buzzards Bay by taking part in the 22nd annual Buzzards Bay Swim on June 20, 2015. The event raised more than $100,000 to support the Coalition's education, conservation, and advocacy work.

Fastest Swimmers

  • Fastest Overall (Male): Lukas Williams of Scottsdale, Ariz. (21:36)
  • Fastest Overall (Female): Mollie Westrick of Lincoln, R.I. (22:57)
  • 12-17: Henry Keegan of Needham (22:48) and Mollie Westrick of Lincoln, R.I. (22:57)
  • 18-22: Lukas Williams of Scottsdale, Ariz. (21:36) and Tess Walter of Scituate (25:55)
  • 23-35: Edward Sweeney of Brighton (26:03) and Morgan McCarthy of East Orleans (23:32)
  • 36-45: Jeff Jotz of Rahway, N.J. (23:01) and Olivia Decas of Mattapoisett (25:31)
  • 46-59: Gus Baker of Waban (23:24) and Deborah Sakr of Amesbury (28:25)
  • 60-69: Joe Hebert of Amherst (25:11) and Helen Ederer of Vero Beach, Fla. (31:00)
  • 70+: Jim Dorsey of Westport (37:21) and Nancy Smith of Dartmouth (44:58)

View full results from the 2015 Swim.

fastest swimmers at the 2015 Buzzards Bay Swim
Fastest swimmers Mollie Westrick and Lukas Williams

Award Winners

Wheeler Watershed Challenge Cup (Fastest Team)

Washed Up: Robert Stringfellow of Foxborough, Jonathan Mariner of Marion, and Max Medina of Marion (average time of 26:51)

Quicks Award (Fastest High School Teams)

  • Boys: Apponequet Regional High School - Boys: Alex Gallant, 18, of Lakeville, Joshua Beck, 18, of Lakeville, and Nicholas Graca, 17, of East Freetown (average time of 23:21)
  • Girls: Metrowest Aquatic Club: Riley Correll, 14, of Dover, Caroline Body, 18, of Dover, and Kate Okun, 15, of Wellesley (average time of 30:38)

Cuttyhunk Award (10-Year Participants)

  • Judy Allen of Natick
  • Doug Olney of Brooklyn, N.Y.

Six Mile Award (5-Year Participants)

  • Brendan Annett of Cotuit
  • DJ Atkins of Pelham, N.H.
  • George J. Borden of Fall River
  • Graham Cottrell of Fairhaven
  • Dianne Elander-Keys of Norfolk
  • Jaren Hawxwell of Berkley
  • Steve Johnson of Tiverton, R.I.
  • Catherine Olson of Cataumet
  • Judith Westrick of Lincoln, R.I.

Top Fundraisers

Top Individual Fundraisers

  • Lawrence Fish of Falmouth ($5,000)
  • Steve Johnson of Tiverton, R.I. ($2,675)
  • Christine Parks of Fairhaven ($2,370)
  • Top fundraiser for a first-time swimmer: Patrick Jenkins of Bourne ($1,640)

Top Fundraising Team

Red Dory Restaurant: Steve Johnson of Tiverton, R.I., and Chris Schlesinger of Cambridge ($4,620)


View photos from the 2015 Buzzards Bay Swim below or on Flickr.

Thank you to our 2024 Swim sponsors!

Cisco Brewing Buzzards Bay Brewing Bee Grateful Bee Grateful
The Crook FamilyTremblay's Bus Co., LLC Milbury and Company fiber optic logo tag line resized
Vineyard Wind Onset Computer TowBoatUSA Wild Waters
Open Soul Swimming Sperry Tents Beta text only silver level
AAFCPAs Out Of The Blue Healing ArtsProfessional Physical Therapy
Brewer Banners