DBSA Gerald L. Klerman Awards

The Gerald L. Klerman Award is the highest honor that DBSA gives to members of the scientific community. Presented each year, this award recognizes researchers whose work furthers knowledge of the causes, diagnosis, and treatment of depression and bipolar disorder. Up to two awards are given annually in each of two categories: DBSA Gerald L. Klerman Award, Senior Investigator and DBSA Gerald L. Klerman Award, Young Investigator.

Gerald L. Klerman (1928-1992) was an educator, researcher, clinician, author, and administrator who specialized in depression, schizophrenia, and panic and other anxiety disorders. He was also one of DBSA’s earliest supporters. Klerman conducted the first clinical trial showing the efficacy of medication and psychotherapy in preventing recurrent depression and led the first large-scale, multisite study to understand the diagnosis, course, and genetics of major depression. Still ongoing, the study has provided critical findings on the nature of depressive disorder.

From 1966 to 1970 Klerman served on the faculty at Yale University. He subsequently moved to Harvard University where he taught at the medical school and was director of psychiatric research at Massachusetts General Hospital as well as director of the Eric Lindemann Mental Health Center. He was appointed head of the Alcohol, Drug Abuse and Mental Health Administration from 1977 to 1980 by President Jimmy Carter, and then became professor of psychiatry and vice chairman of research at Cornell Medical College and New York Hospital. He was the author of numerous articles and books.


Klerman Award Winners

Senior/Young Investigator

1989 Gerald L. Klerman, MD Senior
1989 Myrna Weissman, PhD Senior
1989 J. Raymond DePaulo, Jr., MD Young
1990 Goeorge Winokur, MD Senior
1990 Mark Bauer, MD * Young
1991 Paula Clayton, MD Senior
1991 Joseph R. Calabrese, MD * Young
1993 Robert D. Post, MD Senior
1993 Rif El-Mallakh, MD Young
1993 Susan McElroy, MD Young
1994 A. John Rush, MD Senior
1994 Elliot Gershon, MD Senior
1994 Neal Ryan, MD Young
1995 Peter C. Whybrow, MD Senior
1995 Trisha Suppes, MD, PhD * Young
1995 Zachary N. Stowe, MD Young
1996 Charles B. Nemeroff, MD, Ph.D Senior
1996 David Kupfer, MD Senior
1996 Ellen Frank, PhD Senior
1996 Paul E. Kreck, Jr., MD Young
1997 Dwight L. Evans Senior
1997 Linda L. Carpenter, MD Young
1997 Lori Altshuler, MD * Young
1998 Alan F. Schatzberg, MD Senior
1998 Martin B. Keller, MD Senior
1998 Dominique L. Musselman, MD Young
1998 Stephen Strakowski, MD Young
1999 Dennis S. Charney, MD Senior
1999 Andrew A. Nierenberg, MD * Young
1999 John Markowitz, MD * Young
2000 Charles L. Bowden, MD Senior
2000 Jack M. Gorman, MD Senior
2000 Madhukar Trivedi, MD * Young
2001 J. John Mann, MD Senior
2001 Robert M. A. Hirschfeld, MD Senior
2001 Sarah H. Lisanby, MD Young
2002 K. Ranga R. Krishnan, MD Senior
2002 Jurgen Unutzer, MD, MPH * Young
2002 Mark A. Frye, MD * Young
2003 Gregory E. Simon, MD, MPH Senior
2003 Wayne J. Katon, MD Senior
2003 David C. Steffens, MD, M.H.S. Young
2003 Laura H. Mufson, PhD Young
2004 Paul E. Kreck, Jr., MD Senior
2004 Maria A Oquendo, MD Young
2005 Lori Altshuler, MD Senior
2005 Holly Swartz, MD Young
2006 Helen Verdeli, PhD Senior
2006 Ned H. Kalin, MD Senior
2006 Martha Sajatovic, MD Young
2006 Helen Verdeli, PhD Young
2007 Husseini K. Manji, MD, FRCPC Senior
2007 Joseph R. Calabrese, MD Senior
2007 Daniel S. Pine, MD Young
2008 Karen Dineen Wagner, MD, PhD Senior
2008 Trisha Suppes, MD, PhD Senior
2008 Audrey R. Tyrka, MD, PhD Young
2009 David J. Miklowitz, PhD Senior
2009 David E. Kemp, MD Young
2010 Mark S. Bauer, MD Senior
2010 Roy H. Perlis, MD, MSc Young
2011 John F. Greden, MD Senior
2011 Amy M. Kilbourne, PhD Young
2011 Tina R. Goldstein, PhD Young
2012 John Markowitz, MD Senior
2012 Jürgen Unützer, MD, MPH, MA Senior
2012 Benjamin Goldstein, MD, PhD Young
2013 Madhukar Trivedi, MD Senior
2013 William Beardslee, MD Senior
2013 Rodrigo Machado-Vieira, MD, PhD, MSc Young
2014 Andrew A. Nierenberg, MD Senior
2014 Mark A. Frye, MD Senior
2014 Paul E. Croarkin, DO, MS  Young
2015 James W. Jefferson, MD Senior
2015 Maurizio Fava, MD Senior
2015 Louisa G. Sylvia, PhD Young
2015 Rodrigo B. Mansur, MD, PhD  Young
2016 Martha Sajatovic, M.D. Senior
2016 Constance Guille, M.D., M.S.C.R. Young
2017 Boris Birmaher, MD Senior
2017 Lakshmi N. Yatham, MBBS, FRCPC, MRCPsych, MBA Senior
2017 Jonathan Posner, MD Young
* Recipient of both Young and Senior Investigator Award