Journey: Live in Houston 1981 - The Escape Tour, DVD

Journey: Live in Houston 1981 - The Escape Tour, DVD

Filmed by a four month-old MTV and just days into the band's first number one album Escape, Journey is at their peak. The recent addition of FM-friendly keyboardist/co-songwriter Jonathan Cain (fresh from the Babys) proved to be the final addition that the constantly changing concept band would need to crash both radio and retail charts. The concert DVD shows rows of fans in the same red-sleeved concert jerseys getting their fill of the hits "Don't Stop Believin'," "Stone in Love," "Who's Crying Now," "Open Arms," "Anyway You Want It," "Wheel In The Sky," and "Lights." Stage-wise, there is very little in terms of visual style with the exception of a few rows of gel lights to move with the music and a pair of spotlights that move with unlikely idols Steve Perry and Neal Schon. In this day and age of MTV Video Music Awards and TRL it is difficult to understand how a band of thirty-somethings in hiked-up blue jeans easily delivered the ballads to break young girls' hearts and the glass-pack rock to fuel young boys' Firebirds.

Track List

1. Open Arms
2. Who's Crying Now
3. Don't Stop Believin'
4. Stone In Love
5. Any Way You Want It
6. Band Interview 1981-1982
7. Slide Show; Audio Bed
8. Journey Escape TV Promo
9. Original Aired Closing Credit
10. Intro
11. Escape
12. Line of Fire
13. Lights
14. Stay Awhile
15. Mother, Father
16. Jonathan Cain Solo
17. Where Were You
18. Steve Smith Solo
19. Dead or Alive
20. Keep on Runnin'
21. Neal Schon Solo
22. Wheel in the Sky
23. Lovin', Touchin', Squeezin'

Do you want to become a monthly sustainer and receive this item as a thank you gift? Become a Monthly Sustainer now >

Select this Thank-You Gift