Mail donations to:

PO Box 600067
Raleigh, NC 27675-6067
Or Call: 1-888-292-7070
UNC-TV Life-changing television

Daniel O'Donnell: Back Home Again 2-CD Set

  • Daniel O'Donnell: Back Home Again 2-DVD Set / bonus materialaterial

Daniel O’Donnell Stand Beside Me is a concert celebration of Irish, country, gospel, rock, movie and long-time Daniel O’Donnell favorites. The title of Daniel’s 13th PBS special, Stand Beside Me is not only a popular song among concert goers, but also reflects Daniel’s belief that fans throughout his more than 10 years on PBS have brought him to where he is today, standing beside him making his career a success. The concert was recorded on September 18, 2013 at the Macomb Center for the Performing Arts located in metro-Detroit before a packed house. Joining Daniel on stage is his 6-piece band, back-up vocalists, and long-time singing partner of 26 years, Mary Duff. This extended DVD is the full concert just as it was performed live.

The concert is filled with notable greats including the popular 1956 sing-a-long “Que Sera, Sera (Whatever Will Be, Will Be)” introduced in Alfred Hitchcock’s film The Man Who Knew Too Much starring Doris Day and James Stewart as well as Dean Martin’s signature song “That’s Amore’ which was performed in the movie, The Caddy, with Jerry Lewis in 1953. Sprinkled in the mix are songs such as “Hey Mr. Moon,” “Flying with Angels,” the heartfelt song “Our Anniversary,” the lively act ender about a small Irish town in Tennessee, “Erin Tennessee” and Marty Robbins’ “A White Sport Coat (And a Pink Carnation)” just to name a few.

Singing and traveling together since 1988, Daniel, Mary, the band and vocalists like to relax during their off time by getting together and throwing a party where they sing, dance, laugh and have a good time. As the group gathers on stools center stage, Daniel invites the audience to join their party and the fun begins with a beautiful song, “My Father’s House,” written by the band’s multi-talented guitar and mandolin player, Kevin Sheerin. Mary Duff performs ”God’s Plan” and then accordionist Ronnie Kennedy is on deck with a polka favorite, “Beer Barrel Polka.”  More songs like “Silver Wings” with vocalists Leon McCrum, Rionagh Allen and Nigel Connell and a funny tune, “It’s Hard to Be Humble” sung by Daniel and guitarist John Staunton keep the audience going. There’s a lot of foot stomping and hand clapping as the group ends the set with the crowd pleaser “Blaze of Glory.”

After thanking the audience for a wonderful evening, Daniel asks if they would do something for him like they have for the past l2 years and sings a reprise of “Stand Beside Me” as the audience stands and sings with him.

Then, too soon, we hear Daniel ask, “Are you ready” “No, I mean are you really ready  and viewers and audience members alike know this is the introduction to the resounding “Rivers of Babylon” which signals that the end of the concert is near. The audience sings with him, clapping and swaying to the tempo and the atmosphere is electric. The concert concludes with Daniel’s signature hymn of praise, “How Great Thou Art.”

Note: There are 45 songs on the DVD. Some tracks are medleys with multiple songs, and there is also a reprise of “Stand Beside Me.”

Song List:
* song NOT in broadcast program

1. Stand Beside Me 21. Dear God (Mary Duff)
2. Whatever Will Be Will Be (Que Sera Sera) 22. Lara’s Theme / Beer Barrel Polka (Roll Out the Barrel) (Ronnie Kennedy)*
3. Picture of You* 23. Silver Wings (Leon McCrum, Trionagh Allen, Nigel Connell)
4. Take Good Care of Her* 24. It’s Hard to Be Humble (with John Staunton)
5. Erin Tennessee 25. Teetotaller’s Reel/Boys of Blue Hill*
6. Flying with Angels 26. Together Again (with Mary Duff)*
7. Hey, Mr. Moon 27. Blaze of Glory - Last Song in Party Jubilee
8. Eileen McManus* 28. That’s A'more
9. Everybody’s Somebody’s Fool 29. God’s Plan
10. Just Out of Reach (Mary Duff)* 30. Wooden Heart*
11. I Heard the Bluebirds Sing (Mary Duff)* 31. The Fields of Athenry*
12. Home I’ll Be* 32. Daddy’s Hands (Mary Duff)*
13. Walk Tall (Walk Straight)* 33. South of the Border*
14. Our Anniversary 34. A White Sport Coat (And A Pink Carnation)
15. Perfect Days* 35. I Just Want to Dance with You*
16. Moon Over Ireland* 36. It’s a Long Way to Tipperary/Pack Up Your Troubles (In Your Old Kit Bag)/If You’re Irish, Come into the Parlour/The Blackthorn Stick*
17. (I Never Promised You A) Rose Garden (Mary Duff)* 37. Stand Beside Me (Reprise)
18. Rock ‘n’ Roll Medley: Beautiful Sunday/Sweet Caroline/Da Doo Ron Ron* 38. Rivers of Babylon
19. First Song in Party Jubilee: Do What You Do Do Well* 39. How Great Thou Art
20. My Father’s House  

Bonus Material: The DVD includes the entire concert as it was performed and includes 28 bonus songs.

Running Time: Over 2 hours



 Return to Express Pledge & Renew - Return to Thank You Gift Catalog
Pledge this product



Contact Information:
10 TW Alexander Drive
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709-4900
P: 888.292.7070
F: 919.549.7201
© 2012 UNC-TV and its licensors. All rights reserved.